New system setup

dedge
dedge Registered Users Posts: 4
I'm looking to setup a new stand-alone system and I'd like some input...

Raw Materials:

8x Trojan T105REs
3x Chaori 280W
Midnite Solar KID
Xantrex Prosine 1800

I am new to all of this. I believe these are all good components individually, and I'm confident we've sized the battery bank to our needs. Am I light on solar (I'm in Prescott, AZ)? I'm setting this system up for a small travel trailer that we'll be living in full-time while building a home. I'd appreciate any input or tips from folks.

Thanks,
Dave

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: New system setup

Welcome to the forum Dave.

What system Voltage were you planning on? As far as I know Prosine inverters come in 12 and 24 Volt. Eight Trojan T105's would be bad in 12 Volt: four parallel strings. Not so bad in 24 Volt: two parallel strings.

At 225 Amp hours each that would make a 24 Volt battery bank 450 Amp hours. Right there the MidNite Kid is out as it is a 30 Amp controller and you should have 45 Amps peak current for that bank.

Three 280 Watt panels would total 840 Watts, but you have to watch the specifications here: most panels of that size are Vmp around 30, which is too low to properly charge a 24 Volt system. So if you string them all in series you get a different problem: less controller efficiency due to the ratio between array Vmp (which would be around 90) and system Voltage. But there's another, bigger problem: you'd only get about 27 Amps out of that and it's not enough for 450 Amp hours of battery.

So it's time to recheck the battery capacity and configuration and adjust the PV & controller accordingly.
  • dedge

Thank you for the quick response and some much need (obviously!) help. Based on the specs listed, the Chaori Vmp is 35.7. What would you say to going with 4 of them 2x2 and upgrading to the Midnite Classic 200?
  • Cariboocoot
    dedge wrote: »