solar electric pump for hot tub.

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Ok I am new to all of this so please bear with me. I have a hot tub. I am going to run the jet pump off 110volt system of the house. I want to run a 12 volt electric water pump to flow water from the hot tub to my roof where I plan on installing solar water heating panels. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how large of a panel I will need. I currently am looking at 12vdc pumps rated at about 10 amps. I do not know how to convert the amperage to wattage to figure out if this will work for a reasonable price.

My roof is a single story roof, approx 10 feet high. I would like to run plastic piping if possible due to cost of copper but I understand the heat might be too hot for the plastic.

if anyone has any ideas please let me know.
thanks
keith

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: solar electric pump for hot tub.
    keimini wrote:
    I do not know how to convert the amperage to wattage to figure out if this will work for a reasonable price.

Volts X Amps = Watts

So your 12V pump, at 10Amps (10 ga wire needed) is 120W

Like EPA Mileage Est. the ratings of a solar panel fall short of real life power delivery, a rule of thumb would be to expect about 75% of the label output. (Volts will be a little lower, depends on temperature) Amps will vary according to brightness

Once you know the "head" (altitude) required, and the volume (gallons) you can select the pump, and then locate a panel to power it. Don't forget to evaluate a 24V system too - save on wire thickness.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||