battery specific gravities

I'm a newbie. Here's my vital statistics:

1750 watts pv Sharp 175's / Southwest Windpower H80 / Surrette C5/5000 48volts 1156 amp hours / Simpower 10Kw genset / Xantrex 4048 inverter

The system was commissioned in June of 04. there were a few hiccups at first...the first inverter would shut itself off...just off. It was replaced quickly by the installer. The replacement unit didn't charge well after the first winter and failed completely, lights out! The internal 35 amp ac breaker was replaced while a loaner was here from the installer (love that installer!). Just a few bugs to debug it seemed.

The failure of the first inverter I put down to having a high spike load on over the winter. The system powered a 240volt submersible well pump (through a 120-240volt transformer), whose initial load would read 40 amps ac on the Xantrex status screen (I suspect it was higher). Replaced with a Grundfos soft start 120 volt submersible and no problems since.

In order to utilize more of the genset capacity I purchased and installed a fork lift truck charger...48volt 100amps dc capacity. It's full capacity is never realized since the batteries are never discharged more than 30% (70%DOD). When charging with the genset, the truck charger runs using a "tapered" charge cycle...low dc volts=high dc amps. As the dc volts increase, the dc amps decrease. While the truck charger decreases it's output I gradually increase the charging output of the Xantrex while monitoring the total load on the genset (with a clamp meter). The total load on the genset is kept below the 7Kw mark (generators powering transformer/rectified loads should be de-rated by 30%). This has cut the charge time by about 30% overall.

Here's my first forum question: After 2+ years the specific gravities on my battery cells still vary considerably, up to .025 between cells. Is this an acceptable range of variation?

Any input appreciated.

Comments

• crewzer