12v for life build. No inverter. No PWM/MPPT.

kYLE
kYLE Registered Users Posts: 6
My wife and I plan on going 12v for daily living. We hardly use electricity as it is and see no reason to include dirty electricity (inverters, controllers, dimmers, wifi, smart meters)

For my build (I'm a super solar noob) I plan to use a handful of American made high watt 12v panels (Sharp 80's or Solar World 130's) and a Flexcharge controller to keep the voltage below 14v. It is my understanding that Flexcharge is more of a passive or analog system when compared to PWM/MPPT controllers?

My well will be powered seperately by higher wattage panels with voltage wired to match the appropriate Grundfos SQ Flex pump. Any thoughts on Grundfos?

Is there anyone else with this type of primitive setup? Any advice for me? Thank you for your time :)

And if you want to know why I am choosing to live this way, here is a great video where data is used to compare how the rise of electricity use correlates with cancer and major health problems in general. The Amish community is also compared (most Amish are healthier than most Americans yet eat just as much etc) http://m.youtube.com/?#/watch?v=3_bMTOIH1z0

Comments

• Joe94
    Joe94 Solar Expert Posts: 42
    Re: 12v for life build. No inverter. No PWM/MPPT.