Hot water circulating pump

Options
What a great forum with such helpful people. I’m pretty new to solar and most of all this is going right over my head. Like I know what 12v is but what is 24v and 48v. I have a few projects I would like to do. Right now I'm working on an Open-Loop Direct Systems here in Phoenix AZ. I added a standard, 50-gallon electric tank for a storage tank and wondering the best way to get it together. I was ready to add an electric pump and use the Goldline gl-30 temp control. But now think maybe a DC pump would be better, wouldn't cost any electricity. I have some 75w panels, would a 75w panel be too much for this pump? They say a 10w panel will run it. And if I went with a DC pump is there a temp control unit I could use, so it just doesn't run all the time. Most I have read has the circulating pump just circulating between the 2nd tank and the collector. Can I have the pump circulate between the 2 tanks? Also in the winter I’m sure I won’t get much heat so if put 1 or 2 DC element on the storage tank how many 75w panels would each element take and is that something I should do?  I’ll also put a timer on the main tank and have it turn on a little bit a night.  Thanks for any help

Kim

Comments

• Frank
    Frank Solar Expert Posts: 54 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Hot water circulating pump
    azaware wrote: