Need advice xantrex 6048

PeteNora
PeteNora Registered Users Posts: 13
Hi I am looking for advice. My cabin is remote and off grid. I am in the process of setting a project up. I would like to keep it simple and allow room to upgrade. I am new to solar and inverters. My cabin is a typical hunting place and mostly used September through mid December. I have refurbished two propane fueled Onan 5kw cck models 120/240. I have a xantrex 6048 inverter with a midnight solar install panel. I have 8 Interstate 6 volt golf cart batteries available. I would like to set up the inverter with the Interstate batteries to start with. That way I can get used to the inverter and run the generator as needed to charge the batteries. Then as I advance I would like to set up a small solar array to keep the batteries charged during the week while I am not there. I would like to set it up in such a way that I can expand to a larger solar system without buying larger controllers or adding heavier wiring. Here are my questions?
1-Will my Onan generator be able to run the inverters charger?
2-What 48 volt solar control will be best?
3-what small 48 volt solar array would be recommended?
I am sure I will have a ton of questions and I am wanting advice. Thanks for listening.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Need advice xantrex 6048
    PeteNora wrote: »
    1-Will my Onan generator be able to run the inverters charger?

Yes. 5 kW is quite a large generator for most off-grid purposes.
    2-What 48 volt solar control will be best?

MidNite's Classic line are the best MPPT controllers available right now.
    3-what small 48 volt solar array would be recommended?