Newbie here: trying to decide WIND or SOLAR

oliverbutthead
oliverbutthead Registered Users Posts: 4
Hello

I am new to all of this and have very limited knowledge on the subject matter. I just moved to the mountains of West TX and am in the market for wind or solar power. I live at 6000' and have good wind as well as sun. Don't know the average wind speed though. I am looking for a grid tie system that gives me the most bang for my buck as well as low maintenance costs. I do know I need a 2kw-3kw system. My current usage is 90kwh and that will go up because I am not near finished with my home and added electrical uses. I estimate my monthly usage in the end will be around 300kwh when it is all said and done. I would like to have extra output for grid tie to maybe get a little back from electric company every month......

What type of system and manufacturer would any of you recommend or have experience with? Thanks for any input that you could give!!!

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Newbie here: trying to decide WIND or SOLAR

Welcome to the forum.

I know you have good solar, but do you really have good wind? Lots of people think they do, put up a tower, then find out they don't. Before you buy a wind turbine put up an anemometer and see for sure. Despite the promises of manufacturers, you really do need sustained winds near 20 mph to make wind power viable.

A grid-tie solar system will definitely give you a better return per $ than the wind system will. But the first thing you should is investigate every possible avenue of conservation and usage reduction.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

How often do you need to pick up your hat, after the wind blows it off ? (I know, I pick mine up EVERY time, but the wind seldom blows it off)

If you have suitable wind location, it will blow your hat off, or force you to tie it on. Otherwise, you don't really have enough wind.