Big RV with Potential PV Solar System

Hello Folks, I'm a novice at this solar stuff,

I've been following many discussions here and I am very impressed with the level of expert commentators on all subjects. I would greatly appreciate it if I could get some opinions on the below system, the components and pricing to get a good idea if its worthy of the price or if there are concerns or better items to use in general.

Any additional ideas about any aspect of the kit is welcomed.

I want to put this on my RV/Trailor and head for the boon-docks/off grid for extended periods of times and still have a high quality power source to run RV devices/things at night, with light use during daytime.

Thank you

340 Watt Kit for RV configuration

Price: $ 1,820.00
Batteries Not Included

-(4) 85 Watt Solar Panels (BP485J) Spec. Sheet
-30 Amp Charge Controller (Morningstar PS-30) Spec. Sheet
-(4) RV Flush Mounts Spec. Sheet
-(3) 26" #10AWG INTERMODULE CABLES
-20' #10AWG Output Cable (PANEL to CONTROLLER)
-14" #10AWG Cable (CONTROLLER to BATTERY)

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Big RV with Potential PV Solar System

TM, you will need to be more specific about the loads you want to draw and make a battery choice appropriate to the loads/ PV you (will) have.
    e

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

You should also plan on getting a 12V charger, and a small generator to power it from. You can't plan on every day being sunny, and running the vehicle engine to charge batteries is way inefficient.

And determine your loads, and size your batteries for them, then size your solar to that.