Can't power 240v devices in campervan.

Options
UK_Bantam
UK_Bantam Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
Hi all

Newbie here - treat me kind. 

The set up is this (allegedly!) - three leisure batteries, a 2000w pure sine inverter and a solar panel (not sure of capacity tbh).

I'm finding that if I plug a 240v device in (household kettle, or a small Nespresso machine for example) , I get a near instant drop of power to the device stops heating.

The MT50 gives me the following -

Solar - 20.1v /4.4 amps
Battery - 13.2v /6.7amp
Load - 0 v /0 amp

The inverter remote shows single green, 2 x amber before device turn-on

The basic multi-switch controller shows 12.7 volts.

I have no idea why I am getting a power failure. 

Please help! 

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,448 admin
    edited March 8 #2
    Options
    Welcome to the forum UKB.

With solar--Details matter. Starting with you loads...

For example, in the UK, the "typical" electric kettle draws around 2,300 to 3,000 Watts (2x more Watts than we see in the USA on 120 VAC).

You can purchase an inexpensive 23s0 VAC Power Meter to measure how many Watts your electric kettle uses:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=energy+meter+uk+plug

Now, for the other side of the setup--Your Solar hardware. As you can see, the 2,300-3,000 Watts is more power than your 2,000 Watt (2 kWatt) AC inverter is rated for (again, guessing about your specific electric kettle). That is the first issue (kettle vs AC inverter power ratings).

Next--Understanding the math to generate 230 VAC at XXX Watts from 12 VDC. Let's say that you have a 3,000 Watt kettle and a 3kW+ inverter. The basic math would be:
    • Assume 10.5 VDC for 12 volt battery cutoff voltage (for the AC inverter)
    • Power = Voltage * Current
    • Current = Power/Voltage
    • Current = 3,000 Watts * 1/0.85 AC inverter eff * 1/10.5 VDC minimum battery voltage = 336 Amps @ 12 VDC battery bus