questions on small basic solar setup

I am new to this new free energy. I have done little reading and have setup the following.

I have two sheds in my backyard; one is an older shed that I have all equipment (inside or on the roof). The other shed is new where I have regular indoor house wiring running from the old shed to the new shed. In this new shed I have it wired with switches and light fixtures. I am running 4 110 volt 3 watt LED lights from http://www.superbrightleds.com/MR16_specs.htm .

This is a just something small I wanted off the grid and perhaps in the future I would like to expand. What I am not sure about is when I calculate amperage, do I calculate using 12 volts or 110 volts (I would think it would be the 12 volt). The other thing is when I add a fuse should it be on the positive wire from the 12 volt to the inverter. The max amperage on the inverter is 5 amps so that would make me think the fuse should be a 4 or 5 amp fuse.

Any other input that I may be missing would be appreciated

I have:
1 12 Volt Battery
400 watt inverter
1 15 watt solar panel
2 5 watt solar panels

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: questions on small basic solar setup

interesting set up.. you are on the way...

are you sure that the MR 16 light are not 12 v? The ones I have are, and the web site link shows MR 16 as 12 and 24 v...

Eric

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭

JL,

1) Can you tell us more about your equipment? For example, brand names, model numbers, etc.

2) You'll probably need to add a charge controller between your PV modules and the battery.

More later,