How close to breaker panel?

EllieThomas
EllieThomas Registered Users Posts: 12
I've talked to a local Solar store and they said that it didn't matter how far the solar panels are from the AC breaker panel.

Does this matter? I would think that the wire size and cost would be high since it will be a long way but I am completely new at this.

Thanks,
Ellie

Comments

• James
    James Solar Expert Posts: 250 ✭✭
    Re: How close to breaker panel?

The advice you received is somewhat correct...your DC wiring length from PV array to controller & batteries is more critical due to line loss at low, dc voltages. AC wiring from inverter to load panel is not as important, but still adds up when you look at the cost of copper these days...
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

actually the info is incorrect that effie received from that solar store and that effie's own intuition or knowledge or whatever may apply here is correct that as james stated the losses increase with distance and so do the wire costs as a result. test them and see what they say for a distance of 1000ft. if they still say it doesn't matter then don't deal with them at all.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

There are several different wiring runs we are typing about here...
    1. Solar panels to combiner box / breaker (short run)
    2. Combiner Box to Charge controller (may be a long run)
    3. Charge controller to battery bank (short relatively heavy wire)
    4. Battery bank to inverter (short very heavy wire)
    5. Inverter to 120 VAC loads (short/long, normal house wiring/extension cords)
    Note that #1 and #2 may do the Combining with or without a combiner box/breakers--depends on size of solar array and how it is wired.

The wiring runs where you generally "allow/support" long wire runs are #2 and #5.

Runs #3 and #4 need to be kept short and heavy wiring to reduce voltage drop and carry heavy currents to/from the battery bank.