Panel shading question

Gazz
Gazz Solar Expert Posts: 38
I am very new to this, have had a 2.9KW Sanyo (12x240 HIT) system for 2 weeks. I have some shadowing towards the end of the day (could not be helped) is there any way of telling what effect this is having on output. I have sunny boy SB3000 the only reading on the display is output and Volts. My thoughts were that so long as the voltage does not drop then the system is not being to adversely effected.

Meaning if in ideal conditions I am reading 440V if it does not move much from that with shadow I am only loosing the area of the one panel and it is not dragging down the entire string.

If it drops to 300V then something is going wrong.

Thanks for any help, although there is not much I can do.

Gary

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Panel shading question

Hmm... hard to say.

Do you know how your system array is wired? One long series string of panels, two series strings in parallel?

Normally, I would expect to see voltage to drop rather than current if this was long string of panels (10 panels in series, block one, then input voltage drops by 1/10th).

If you have two parallel strings and block one panel, you might see the string voltage stay high--but the one string blocked looses current output, not voltage so much. This would be normal as the MPPT tracking ends up tracking the string in "full sun" and the other string is "lost". Sort of like paralleling a 10 "D" Cell flashlight battery string with a 9 cell string... The 10 cell string will do most of the work.

The other issue is how much shading are we talking about... Power output curves Pmp, Vmp, Imp are fairly flat within 10% of the peak (5% on either side)... And being "off" by 10% is not a huge effect. If you are looking at 30-40%+ shading difference between strings--that is another matter.