Understanding the Solar Lingo

shmockey
shmockey Registered Users Posts: 7
I am a newbie here, I did the cheap and easy thing, I went to Harbour Freight and bought thier small system. I love it and want to upgrade to a bigger system to run more things in the house. The problem that I am having is trying to figure out the panels, what is the imp and vmp? From my understanding the i in imp is for current and the v in vmp is voltage, correct me if I am wrong. I dont know what the mp's are for.

If anyone could help me to understand all of this so that I can figure out what charge controler to get and how to correctly break down what I am getting.

Thanks for any help that anyone can give.

Comments

• RCinFLA
    RCinFLA Solar Expert Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Understanding the Solar Lingo

Not sure how much electronics knowledge you have. A PV cell is an illumination based current source that is voltage clamped by an inherent diode of PV cell.

This means for a given sun illumination level there will be a current output that is fairly constant from zero volts on cell to point where inherent diode starts to conduct and shunts the illumination generated current to negative terminal through the inherent diode.

To get maximum power you want the load to be such to achieve the highest voltage for a given illumination current. But there is a top end where external load will allow cell voltage to rise to a point where the inherent diode starts to shunt the illumination based current away instead of delivering it to external load. If PV cell is totally unloaded (open circuit) all the illumination generated current will go down the inherent cell diode. This is called Voltage Open Circuit, or Voc. This is about 0.65 vdc per silicon cell at 25 deg C.