Connecting PV Modules to Inverter

I am new to the postings and am looking for information on wiring my solar panels to the inverter. I am installing 18 175 watt panels in three portrait arrays. These are on a west facing roof tilted 30 degrees toward south. I will be making two strings of nine panels and running these to a Xantrex inverter. The panels have MC connectors, but I will need to run an extension cable from one array to the next about seven feet away. What should I use for this stretch? I will then need to do the same thing from my middle array to my last array. Both strings will then need to run about forty feet to the inverter. What type of wire should I use to go from arrays to inverter? I also should connect grounding wire from each array to the ground copper post. Which wire should be used for this?

Comments

• crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Connecting PV Modules to Inverter

Jonathan,

I split your post off as a topic of its own. This will hopefully make it easier for the members to focus on your specific request.

Regards,
    Jim / crewzer
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

i thought you did that jim as one minute while i was posting it was there and next it was gone.

jonathon,