Size of Battery Bank?

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
I am new to solar -- appears I am in the right place as there is more knowledge here than I could read in several weeks!

I want to create a solar system for my RV using 600 watts of panels. I need guidance in sizing the battery bank. I have heard one rule of thumb is to match the watts of the panels to the amps of the battery bank -- this would beam a 600 amp-hr battery bank.

Looking at my options for batteries and budget, I can create a 500 amp-hr battery bank. The next step up would be a 750 amp-hr battery bank, which costs more than I want to pay.

Thoughts on how to size the battery bank and if a 500 amp-hr bank is sufficient for 600 watts of solar panels?

Thanks!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Size of Battery Bank?

What voltage battery bank? 12/24/48 VDC?

And, ideally, you should have some idea of your loads (big solar RE systems are not cheap) and alternative power sources (genset?). I try to preach matching loads, panels, generators to expected loads for cost efficient operation.

Also, you want to start with conservation regarding your loads (CFL / LED lighting, conversion to efficient devices/electronics, etc.).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Options

Hi Bill -- thanks for the quick response! I am using a 12 volt battery bank. I expect my miniumum daily current needs to be 200 amps and maximium daily current needs to be 400 amps (depending on temperature and abilikty to be outside).

I am also looking at replacing the lighting with LEDs.

I have a 3000 watt generator for charging the batteries on cloudy days or when we are parked under trees, and as a backup source of power. It was sized so it could run the AC if needed.
  • bryanl
    bryanl Solar Expert Posts: 175 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options