Attic Ventilation Project with potential addition of solar attic fan (gable/peak)

doohic
doohic Registered Users Posts: 10
Hi all, I'm going to use this thread to post everything about the attic ventilation project I am about to endure. Just a quick background, Ive been lurking about here and there learning a little about solar and a little about attic venting practices. And I myself am a geek by trade and a want-to-be DIY master. (currently building my first screened in porch enclosure)

After doing a bunch of reading for my Attic ventilation project I've found I first need to do some adjustments to my soffit system. I'll be making sure I have all of my soffit chutes
Add-Attic-Vent-10-ss.jpg

Ive read that the aluminum soffit systems may not allow enough air to pass in (those tiny little holes), and to install 8"x12" vents every 8 feet or so.. however, here in FL, I'm not sure thats the best idea with heavy wind and rain. Those larger openings could result in more exposure.

Comments

• doohic
    Re: Attic Ventilation Project with potential addition of solar attic fan (gable/peak)

after the chutes I need to figure out how to vent up and out. My original plans were to put gable vents at each end of my home, and then do a single ridge vent in center of my house near the peak and use a fan to vent it, and potentially have that fan be battery powered and battery charged/maintained by a solar panel (and use a thermostat). Another idea was to just use gable fans on each end. I believe I still need more venting near the ridge though. My house currently only has two ridge vents and they are at opposite ends of the attic (nothing in the middle).