wind turbine without batteries

Hi,
I am new in this, I had read a lot about wind turbines, but I need a clear answers about a few points, the main target of my wind turbine is to heat my room using low rpm 1kw 12/24/48 V dc permanent magnet motor, my questions are:

1)the average wind speed is 10, is it good enough?

2) do i need battery bank and charge controller if I just want to connect the generated power directly to a heater element ?

3) If yes, is there a type of heaters that can handle the variant voltages that will be generated ?

thanks,

Mustafa

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: wind turbine without battarys

Are you somewhere around Jordan?

Regarding average wind speed--10 m/s; 10 kM/hour or what units?

In general, a wind turbine would seem to be an expensive and unreliable provider of power for electric heat. And, if you are trying to use a PM DC Motor--there are few that can take the thrust of the wind on the blades (plus weather).

For designing and building a home made wind turbine --- www.Otherpower.com is a good place to visit.

Doing it with or without batteries all have all of their own issues (expense, complexity, control of turbine to prevent overspeed, etc.). In the end, anything is possible--but many times not practical.

My question; do you have lots of sun available? Solar Thermal (hot air, hot water, etc.) is generally a very good option for heating. Use an insulated water tank or hot air blown through gravel (stone) is not a bad solution. Also--if this is a home, insulation and design (windows to allow sunlight in during winter, keep sunlight out during winter should have a long history in your area...

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: wind turbine without battarys