Noob here - basic setup question

Snailster
Snailster Registered Users Posts: 18
Hi all! I've been lurking for a while, putting together a simple system for my shack.

Here is the skinny:
Running a 12V system.
Got two 6V 220ah golf cart Costco batteries ($75 + $9 core charge each), in series.
I intend to buy the Sunsaver MPPT 15A controller.

My main dilemma is, what size PV array do I need?

I have heard the rule of thumb that batts should be charged at 5-15% of their capacity (am I understanding the rule correctly?). My capacity is 220 ah. That would suggest an array that can provide 11 - 33A. The closest to that, available in my area is a SunSolar 175W mono ($730 + tax). That should, on a good day provide, after some losses, roughly about 12A - on the lower end of the required panel size, based on the 5-15% rule alone.

However: I feel, given my expected usage pattern, that I could easily get away with an 80-130W array, after accounting for all lossess, inefficiencies, and cloudy days.

My usage: I need only 50W for 4 hrs for THREE DAYS A WEEK (basically just the weekends), and I average 5 hrs of full sun per day in my area (Hawaii).

How set in stone is the 5-15% rule? Could a 220 ah battery bank be brought up to a full charge, and maintained there, by an 80W, or even smaller panel, providing I have less coming out than coming in, of course?

Or is there a certain point where the panel is too small and cannot "top-off" the battery?

Thanks for any and all ideas!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Noob here - basic setup question

Roughly, the minimum panel would be 1-2% of the 20 Hour rating (in Amp*Hours). And that would be assuming you have no load.

The 5% minimum is partially there to ensure that the batteries are capable of equalization (flooded cell battery needing mixing of electrolyte by sufficient gas generation).