Shurflo vs Conergy pump

gpigeon
gpigeon Registered Users Posts: 34 ✭✭✭
I am planning to pump water from a shallow well and into elevated tanks for stock use. Both the Shurflo 2088 and Conergy units will do the job but the latter are around 5 times more expensive. Are they 5 times better? I have been told that the shurflo units are not designed for continuous duty and also the brushes will only last for 1500 hrs. (about 6 months at 8 hrs per day). Has anyone had experience with these pumps in this type of duty? Any comments?
Thanks. Bill.

Comments

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Re: Shurflo vs Conergy pump

I have no experience with either of those models, but where I used to work, they had a reverse osmoses water purifying unit, that used a 24 volt DC Shurflo pump, high volume but low (40 PSI max) pressure and a 120VAC Shurfol pump, which was low speed (low RPM and low volume) but high pressure, adding about 70 PSI to the water entering the reverse osmoses cartridge. Both needed replacement a couple of times in about 5 years. Brushes and / or diaphragms. Also, a couple of times, I used parts from 2, to get one that worked. The 120 VAC unit ran about 5 % of the time, while the 12VDC unit probably only about 0.1% of the time. I wasn’t too impressed with their reliability.
    That’s all I can say, because that’s my only experience.
    Wayne
  • gpigeon

Wayne from NS (Canada)
    Thanks for your reply and info - the only one to date. I am on the East coast of Australia and am prepared to air freight these pumps from the USA but the our American friends seem reluctant to answer my emails. Maybe they don't want the business!!!!! I have contacted both Shurflo (US) and NAWS for some technical info but it is not forthcoming. I will however keep trying. :-(
    Thanks again.
    Bill W.
  • Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭

If you want price go with Shurflo, if you want reliability go with Conergy.
  • System2
    wind-s2 wrote: