Laptop Charge While Camping; Long Term (Newbie Question)

I must say that I was thrilled to have found this forum! I've been reading posts for the past hour now, but still have questions. I don't mind researching and becoming informed on the subject (book recommendations are welcome), but I've found this all a bit overwhelming and am not sure where exactly to start.

I will am volunteering at a somewhat remote campsite in B.C., Canada all summer. (Campsite is 18km outside of Fruitvale, 20 minutes West of Creston and about an hour South of Nelson). I am a freelance writer, so I'll need to access my laptop 4-6 hours a day. It runs at 60W, I think - the power cord says the following: INPUT 100-240V - 1.9A, 50/60Hz, OUTPUT 16V 4.5A. I've also got a 150W (300 amp) Power Box from Motormaster with adaptors. We'll have a car onsite, and will be hitting town probably twice a week.

From my calculations (and correct me if I am wrong), I should be getting a 60-80W panel (or combination to create that amount of wattage) that is element-ready.

Have I got this right? Will I need anything else? Should I do some further reading? Thanks so much for your time.

Comments

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Re: Laptop Charge While Camping; Long Term (Newbie Question)

What make and model of laptop?

Mike
  • crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭

Sorry about this question dropping through the cracks... Is this previous discussion at all helpful?

Regards,
    Jim / crewzer
  • System2

First, I apologize for not responding sooner! I checked back for a while, and then forgot to. I was very happy when I saw not one, but two responses.

Make and Model: IBM Thinkpad R40