Have Wind Turbine plus a little Solar--what next

Options
System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi guys please bear w/me as I am new to this and am trying to learn .I built my house on lake shore power and am totally off the grid. I a am wondering where to start ..EX: what type of battery to go with, 2v , 6v , 12 , and what is the difference.I have a 1kw windturbine and 1 solar panel.But what kind of controler ,how many kw ect ect.
Thing is I have good wind potential as the wind sweeps through the lake 12km and I am at the recieving end.I do get general light in the winter 8hrs.
but please allow some options.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Have Wind Turbine plus a little Solar--what next

Northernboy,

I have moved and created a new thread for your post--should make things easier.

In a nut shell for Solar:
    1. Conserve (insulation, energy efficient appliances, turn things off, etc.)
    2. Understand your loads. Peak Watts (i.e., well pump starting load). Average watts (radio+tv+lights, etc.). And how much time things are turned on (100w*2hours + 50w*6hours = 500 Watt*Hours).
    3. Size the Battery... Generally, recommend that the battery be 6x your daily load (allows for 3 day of no-sun, and 50% maximum discharge for longer battery life).
    4. Size the Solar Array (or Wind-System) to provide for your Watt*Hours of usage per day * 1/efficiency of your charge controller, battery bank, inverter, etc.
    5. Picking Battery Bank voltage--typically, I recommend a maximum of about 100 amps through your battery bank--heavier currents require larger wires/fuses/breakers/etc.--gets hard to work on and expensive... So if you are ~1,200 watts load or less--12 volts is fine. If you are more than 2,400 watts, then look at 48 volt bank.