generator/inverter charging setup...

hillbilly
hillbilly Solar Expert Posts: 334 ✭✭
ok this is probably a total newbie quandry that I am in, but here it is:
first off I am looking to up-size our whole system, but can only really do it one component at a time.  our current battery bank is made up of 8 6v surrette 350ah each, and we have 2 evergreen 110w solar panels, our power consumption is very low (and currently very limited), but backed up by a generator with an iota 30amp charger.  I was looking into some of the inverters with charging capabilities, in particular the outback vfx3524 (capable of charging at 85amps DC).  Three questions that I have which I could not tell from the specs that I've looked over:
from what I have heard it is not recommended to charge your battery bank at more than 10% of their rated capacity (this would be 70amps at 24v for us), and I am not sure if this inverter can charge at a lower rate than the specified 85 amps or not (ie: is that just the maximum capable output). 
secondly, I currently only have a 15amp rated cable running from the generator currently (that would supply about 75amps at 24V???), will this cause a problem or simply limit the charging capabilities of the inverter.
last, I am wondering is it possible to use the generator/inverter to equalize charge the batteries, or do I need to rely on the pv panels to do this.
Like I said, this is probably quite a greenhorn question, but I would greatly appreciate any and all advice.

Comments

• halfcrazy
    halfcrazy Solar Expert Posts: 720 ✭✭✭
    Re: generator/inverter charging setup...

the inverters charger of 85 amps is fully adjustable down to next to nothing.
    the 15 amp cable is going to need attention as it will be a severe week spot causing voltage drop to the inverter look into at least #10 copper depends on the length though.
    the inverter charger will equailize though you will need to buy the mate to go with it :x