Questions on over paneling with Grid Interactive Inverter.

Options
I currently have 2320 watts of rated PV power and as far as the math is concerned I need around 3500 to make my 46 amps for 464 ah of battery at 48 volts. The other day it was a coolish day in the 60s and partly cloudy with the sun popping out from time to time. The panels were cooler than I have experienced since this is my first year operating my system. I was looking at the Classic's display and seen 2500 watts at 45 amps. By the time I got my phone out to snap a picture I was looking at this.

IMAG0469.jpg

My plans have been to buy four more 300 watt panels to get to 3520 watts rated power. My question is if left unattended can I hurt my batteries with too much charge current in cold weather or will the inverter dump the extra into the grid? During this summer in full sun I usually see 1700-1800 watts at 30-34 amps

Thanks
Dennis

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Questions on over paneling with Grid Interactive Inverter.

464 AH / 8 hour charge rate = 58 amps "max" charging current (no remote battery temperature sensor)

I would not be worried--And I would worry less if you have the remote battery temperature sensor connected (reduces charging voltage for "hot" battery bank).

I do have a bit of concern about the 60.6 volt input--On hot summer days, the array's Vmp may depress enough that it will prevent the controller from pulling full Imp from the array on a 48 volt battery bank (i.e., Vmp-array below 58 volts, and battery charging voltage >58 volts).

That 30-34 amp typical charging current may be the result of low Vmp-array working voltage in hot/summer weather.

If these are Vmp~30 volt panels, they should really be setup as 3x series strings for Vmp-array ~90 VDC.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • verdigo
    verdigo Solar Expert Posts: 428 ✭✭
    Options