New solar setup and AIMS inverters

Options
Stuck
Stuck Registered Users Posts: 6
Hey all, I am new to solar power and have been lurking on this site and a few others . I have found some very useful information here and there are some very knowledgeable people on this site.

I am considering an AIMS 8kw pure sine wave inverter for a whole house off grid system. Has anyone had experience with this unit and can share some feedback?

I am in the planning stages so I am sill doing homework.

For those who may ask, my continuous load is about 4300 w and peak loads about 6200w. However I have left room for future expansion. My intended battery bank is 48v 890a from a used forklift. And am planning on 3- 5 48v arrays - putting out 920whrs each, 5 hrs min a day.

Any feedback on this setup is also very welcome.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: New solar setup and AIMS inverters

Welcome to the forum.

Do not walk away from the AIMS inverter. RUN! As fast and as far as you can!

Second, a continuous 4300 Watt load? All day? That is an astounding 103,200 kW hours. It is quite impractical to supply that kind of power from batteries. Methinks your numbers may be wrong.

So lets start where off-grid systems design always start: getting the loads right. Buy a Kill-A-Watt meter and start measuring things you use now where you live. It will give you some idea of how much power you really use. Peak Watts is important, but Watt hours daily is vital.

For example that forklift battery at most will supply about 30kW hours. It would require at least 5.5 kW of array, and that would be at 25% DOD (9kW hours).

Do not wager that you will have 5 hours equivalent good sun per day either.

Loads first, battery bank size second, array size third. And getting the load size minimized is essential.

BTW why do you want to go off grid? That too is an important question. It will not save you money if grid is available.
  • Stuck
    Options