Hoping for some help in preventing a fire or getting electrocuted

Options
x_david_x
x_david_x Registered Users Posts: 8
Hello,

I hope this is the right place to post this. If not, please point me in the correct direction. There seemed to be a few forums that may be applicable.

I'm new to solar. I'm putting together a system for an RV (fish house/toy hauler/camper). I've done a bit of reading on the basics, but now that I'm getting closer to installation, the topic of protection has reared its ugly head. I figured I'd post what I intend to do and see if I get reprimanded, along with an alternative recommendation. :blush:

Here are the basics. I'm happy to supply more detailed specs if needed.

- 2 x 100 watt, 12 volt panels in parallel
- 1 x 30 Amp PWM Charge Controller
- 1 x 100 Ah AGM battery
- 1 x 40 feet of 12 gauge cable with male and female MC4 ends for between panels and charge controller (cable will be cut into 2 x 20 feet sections)
- 1 x pair of MC4 Y connectors (for connecting the panels in parallel)
- 1 x 16 feet of 12 gauge cable for between charge controller and battery (cable will be cut into 2 x 8 feet sections)

There will not be an inverter at this time. The RV has a converter/charger for use with a generator or shore power and has a 120 volt AC circuit breaker box/12 volt DC fuse panel. There is some question about what the two chargers will do when they are both active at the same time, but I'm taking a wait and see approach on that one and hoping that one scares the other away (makes it think that the battery is charged) rather than dueling banjos.