Splice USE-2 to THWN - best way?

Hi all,
I am installing racking and panels on the roof and will be starting the wiring process shortly. I have 2 strings of 14 panels and already have 3/4" EMT running from the Inverter to the roof. Now for the question - what would you recommend for a roof-mounted junction box and splicing method to go from the USE-2 wire to the THWN going down to the inverter?

I'm a noob installing my first system, thanks in advance for your help!

BTW - Maricopa County (AZ) is who will be inspecting the system.

Craig

Comments

• solarix
    solarix Solar Expert Posts: 713 ✭✭
    Re: Splice USE-2 to THWN - best way?

Water proof junction boxes (they are never really waterproof due to condensation - so make a way for it to drain) with basic wire nuts (code rated to 600V) is fine. You can go with sealed wire nuts like Polaris connectors) but really - wire nuts make a direct, gas-tight, contact between the actual conductors and will be reliable. Inspectors will be good with that, but they rarely go on roofs and don't open junction boxes either (inspectors rarely catch real problems - thats why you should have a licensed electrician). Junction box needs to be listed for exterior use. They have plastic ones as such, but in Phoenix, I'd stay away from any kind of plastic (even gray PVC goes bad in dry heat). If you want to look professional, spend a bit more for a steel NEMA-3R box that doesn't need a gasket for the cover (you gotta mount it on a vertical surface though).