Charge, Float and Cutoff Voltages for Large LiFePO4 Cells

RonR
RonR Registered Users Posts: 7 ✭✭
First, this is a great site with incredible participation by some very knowledgable folks, thanx!
I'm an electrical engineer, the first step in the design process is to collect requirements, understand the options and issues, then get to work.
Not so simple when dealing with ever shifting and conflicting data surrounding LiFePO4. I've used T105's for decades but LiFePO4 is a different kind of animal. I know that most of the folks on this site use various lead based technologies, but I have seen a few LiFePO4 posts and this is clearly the place to go for unbiased MPPT info.
My application is an RV with 2 solar panels (about 600W), an MPPT controller (not selected), about 200Ah of LiFePO4 battery at 24V (8 cells), a custom micro-controller and interface electronics (individual cell voltage, SOC calculation, over voltage and under voltage disconnect, alarms, etc, etc).
Why LiFePO4? This is a small RV (sprinter van), using LiFePO4 is about a quarter the weight and size of any lead solution I could find. In this case about 200 less pounds and 1.5 less cubic feet. Considering the relative lifetimes LiFePO4 is even cheaper, in the long run, up front costs are pretty hard to stomach. At the end of the day (with a lot of insulation and using one of the ultra efficient mini-split systems) I hope to power a small air conditioner.
This is partly an education / hobby project and partly a "get rid of the generator in the RV" project.