Batteries only charging to 70%?

robyn
robyn Registered Users Posts: 1
Hope someone can help me with this:

Am 100% off-grid for 3 yrs now. Past several very sunny days here in southern Ca, my batteries are only charging to about 70%. I have checked everything I can think of, and yes, batteries have water. I am NOT a tech expert, by any means...just a gal trying to figure this out...

My system is thus: 14 NINGBO Solar panels, model TPB125X125-96-P @ 230 WP

(3X) 8x6 volt=48 volt system so, 24 batteries total T105 RE Trojan

Using Xantrex: controller: XW-MPPT 60-150
inverter: XW 6048 120/240 60

ANY assistance is greatly appreciated...I need my batteries to charge 100% !!!!

thanks,

robyn

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Batteries only charging to 70%?

welcome to the forum.
    not sure how old your batteries are, but i suspect there may be a bad battery or 2 or 3. to start this may be an inconvenience to you, but i would allow all of the batteries to rest for 3-4 hours. that means no charging or loads to the batteries. after that isolate each battery electrically by disconnecting appropriate wires and measure each battery's voltage. mark this down and paste the result to each battery tested and recheck your readings afterward too to be sure you got it right. this may prove if bad cells are present or if there are other imbalances going on here. it may also be good to measure the specific gravity of each cell and put that info also attached to each battery. don't have a hydrometer to measure it then you need to buy one if the voltages don't show problems, but you will want to report all your findings here too for interpretation.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum Robyn.

The logical first question is: how do you judge them to be 70% charged? Are you taking SG readings? Do you have a battery monitor? Are you going by Voltage?