Wind load effect on the PV system

Lege
Lege Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi,
I'm a structural design engineer, and I'm new to the solar energy world,
it's required from me to design a solar mounting system resisting a wind speed of 150 kph,
In the attachments you can find a sketch of the required structure, and a picture taken from AutoCAD file showing the deatails of the solar system,

what I really need to know is the wind load affect (pressure) on my structure and PV panels???
and what is the main part of the whole system should prevent the uplifting forces acting on the panels???

It'll be open from all sides and the roof is only covered by PV's which are placed flatly,

I really need your help, I have no one to help me here and finally I could find a solar energy forums,
I appreciate your fast replies for me,
thanks a lot in advance :)

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Wind load effect on the PV system

welcome to the forum,
    i can't say that i am qualified to answer your questions, but if the pvs are flat the wind will have almost negligible effect on the pvs barring some of those crazy winds from derechos, hurricanes, and tornadoes. i would think there would be more pressure upon the supporting structures as the winds attempt to pass under the pvs. i am in a similar situation as i would need to design a horizontal structure (pipe) needing to span over 20ft and hold 4 large pvs while free standing from 2 vertical side supports by about 15ft (also pipes), but my pvs will not be flat and will have a greater push/pull from the wind. we have similar problems even though yours is much broader in scope.