super-basic inverter-to-subpanel-to-outlet setup gives unexpected meter readings

MajorA
MajorA Registered Users Posts: 4
Thank you energetically in advance for being willing to consider a worried beginner's questions.

I think I've connected things as shown in the Xantrex Installation guide. Basically:
Inverter Line to "top" of subpanel circuit breaker; "bottom" of circuit breaker to one side of outlet.
Inverter neutral to the other side of the outlet.
Inverter ground to subpanel ground bus. Ground bus to grounding rod outside the cabin.

NOTE: Haven't yet turned the inverter on *with the subpanel and outlet connected* -- because ... well, see item #2, below.

Unexpected meter reading #1:
Without the subpanel and outlet connected, when I read AC voltage across the Inverter's outs I get only 84 V.
Being a rank beginner, I am expecting 110-120.
What am I doing wrong?

Unexpected reading #2
With the connections as described above but with the inverter off:
With the subpanel circuit breaker ON, the outlet reads shorted. (Excuse my lame terminology. What I mean is that the screws on both sides of the outlet plug have continuity, zero-out the ohmmeter.)
With the circuit breaker OFF, the outlet reads as I expect it to: no continuity between the two sides.
In fact, everything about the subpanel and the outlet reads as I expect WHEN IT ISN"T CONNECTED TO THE TURNED-OFF INVERTER. When connected to the turned off inverter, the circuit breaker and outlet start scaring me and my multimeter.

Gives me the heebiejeebies to think about turning the inverter ON with what seems to be a shorted-out plug.
Can I be helped?

Thank you again for being here!

Maje

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: super-basic inverter-to-subpanel-to-outlet setup gives unexpected meter readings

Maje,