Solar, Wind, Grid (triple) charging setup.

First, I'd like to say that I have never built a system before so go easy on me, but here's what I want to set up.

I would like to set up a system of batteries to run a load which will be charged by solar panels and a wind turbine, and the third charge controller would be plugged into my outlet but I only want it to run when my battery bank gets below 70-80% or so. From what I gather you can connect multiple controllers to the same battery bank, but how do I get the 3rd controller (which will be plugged into the grid) to only turn on at a set voltage?

I found out that there are voltage sensing switches out there, but my electronics experience is pretty limited, so I am still learning. Does anyone have any suggestions for what kind of components I need for a system such as this.

I am prepared to purchase MPPT charge controllers. I've heard of programmable power relays/ controllers, but dont know much about them (not affraid to learn).

So the way I see it now is: the two primary (solar and wind) charge controllers will be connected directly to the battery bank, and the third (secondary charging system) will be isolated by a voltage sensing relay which will turn on at an appropriate voltage (70%-80% capacity of battery bank).

another question I see in my mind is, should i have a system where only one charge controller is active? reason i ask is, lets say I have a sunny and windy day, wouldnt the two controllers provide too much voltage to the system? Again, I'm sure there is a wiring trick I may not know so please enlighten me please.

i am looking for any input, I know this can be done, but with what equipment. I wonder if there are controllers which can be plugged into my PC in order to program them directly. Anyhow, any and all input is much appreciated.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,422 admin
    Re: Solar, Wind, Grid (tripple) charging setup.

Welcome to the forum Fermer!