Setting up a new 800 watt panel - off grid system, Need some help please :)

darrylgood
darrylgood Solar Expert Posts: 25
Hello Everyone.

I am setting up an off grid system for our cottage. I have sized it out and have determined that we can live comfortably with 800 watts (3 - 265 watt panels) I have purchased only the panels so far and have a couple questions as I'm just a solar amateur at this point in time :)

Does anyone know of a website/link/forum that has directions in setting up a system such as mine?

I believe I should be doing a 24 volt system, is this correct? What is the advantage, what is different from a 12 volt system?

Is a 1600 watt inverter large enough or should I go for the 2500?

How do I determine the charge controller size?

How should my battery's be wired?

Any info would help

Thanks so much everyone!

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Setting up a new 800 watt panel - off grid system, Need some help please :)

Welcome to the forum.

I guess it's my day to be mean to people. :p

You're going about it the wrong way 'round. The first thing you need to do is determine your loads, not buy panels.

The maximum Watts at any given time will tell you how big an inverter you need. The total daily Watt hours will tell you how much battery you need. These two together will tell you what system Voltage you should pick. Here's a piece on system Voltages you should read: http://forum.solar-electric.com/showthread.php?15989-Battery-System-Voltages-and-equivalent-power

From there you can figure out how much panel you need to recharge the batteries, and what charge controller will connect the two. All the specifications together (including distances involved) will determine what size wire and circuit protection is needed on the various circuits involved.

So before any more money escapes from your wallet, let's get down to what you need to run and how much power it all will use.
  • BB.