Battery solar charging system for a 2KW home as backup

hello members, (this request is in the wake of hurricane Sandy aftermath)

I am planning to build a DIY solar charging system at home in NJ to power some battery that lets me run 2KW worth of home appliances including fridges, sump-pump, etc run for some 2 or 3 days. Could you break it down by the items (brands are welcome for easy lookup/understanding only) that need to be purchased/configured.

My research so far tell me to install: Solar PV panel, Charge Controller, Inverter, Batteries and wires of all sorts.

Please tell me the spec for each of the components I need to procure and configure.

I am no electrician. A schematic diagram would help a lot.

Thanks
Rao

Comments

• inetdog
    inetdog Solar Expert Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Battery solar charging system for a 2KW home as backup

Welcome to the Forum.

For this kind of use, a generator will be far cheaper and more reliable. Think about that before spending too much time looking at solar PV options.
    To limit the generator running time, an inverter system with PV panels and batteries may be a useful supplement, but please do look at what you can do with a generator first.
    SMA SB 3000, old BP panels.
  • ydnrao
    ydnrao Registered Users Posts: 2

inetdog - that's great idea. thanks. could you elaborate on an inverter system with PV panels and batteries supplement part.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

ydnrao;

First thing to do: buy a Kill-A-Watt meter. About $30. Use it to measure the average daily consumption of everything you want to keep running in an emergency. This information is vital to proper planning.

You are going to find that refrigerators have high consumption. They also have high start-up demand which won't be noticed by the meter.