Matching up wind speed with temperature to create a thermal model of wind turbine

Eddy Lin
Eddy Lin Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello everyone,

It's been nice for me to join in a professional forum like this~I think I am a totally amateur here~LOL

I have a few questions and thoughts about my project, I list them below, could anyone give me some advise on if they are
practical?

As my project was to match up wind speed data with temperature to create a thermal model of wind turbines, it was Carter 25KW turbine and all the data has been collected, and what I should do is to program and pick up data of temperature and wind speed by Matlab, it seems that what I should study is data processing and programming with Matlab, and I studied literature on following fields for literature review:

1.Develop mathematical models for data processing, mainly on
- Regression model
- Neural network model

2. Thermal field of generator and gearbox
3. Condition monitoring and fault detection due to temperature anomalies

I really have no idea what other kinds of research I should do for the project, could someone give me some advice? and if the literature I studied in last one month was practical?

Data processing and programming is a totally new field to me, I apologize if there is some misunderstanding of what I should do or learn.

Thanks very much

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Matching up wind speed with temperature to create a thermal model of wind turbine

What is the independent/dependent function(s) you are looking for here?

Local Wind, at least in my area, is not really a function of local temperatures... Instead, it is based on temperature differences, we have cold ocean air rushing inland during the summer to displace hot rising central valley air--Mount turbines on draw/ridge-line, generate power.