Plug and play inverters

lsb61
lsb61 Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello all!
I am a virtual complete novice with regard to Solar systems. I am committed to eventually provide most if not all my power via solar. However, at this time I cannot afford 15K for a complete system. I have been looking for ways to make a dent in my power usage. I am currently making my own panels, and heavily researching how to safely put them in place to reduce what Im buying from my power company without taking out a second mortgage to do it.
Which brings me to plug and play inverters. I have seen quite a few available on line, but I have read here that many of you experienced solar guru's don't think they are safe.
Can anyone comment (in layman's terms please) why this is either safe or unsafe. Are there ways to make it safe? and if you don't feel it's safe then what suggestions might you have for a newbe that might be a safe but affordable alternative way to start.
Larry
P.S. I am not so much of a newbe that I don't have a basic understanding of what inverter's, charge controllers, and other components of these systems do and are for, but if you get too technical you'll loose me! lol

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Plug and play inverters

Today--Building your own panels probably costs almost the same amount of money (and your time) as buying factory panels. And your DIY panels may last a few months or a year--Where factory panels should last 20-40 years.

And, there is the problem with fire (these were "factory made" panels--but built the way most DIY panels are made):

Panel Fire Question

Regarding plug and play GT inverters, there are two main issues.