CPAP Backup

ebbe
ebbe Registered Users Posts: 8
Hi everyone - I am new to this - in fact - not even sure I am posting this to the correct place - but I was hoping someone would be able to help me. My brother has a CPAP machine that he would literally die without. He has to use it every time he sleeps. I am looking for a back-up system for him to power it in case the grid ever fails. I know this sounds crazy - but I want him to be prepared just in case something like that could really happen. I don't know where to start - and we don't have a lot of money so I don't want to get ripped off. He has a generator but I want him to have solar also in case gas supplies get cut off. any idea?

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: CPAP Backup

hi ebbe and welcome,
    i moved your inquiry to its own thread as i thought it warranted it.

i do want to ask if this also involves oxygen or any other stuff to be run on electric?

i would like some info on the power requirements the cpap needs and if you don't have a power monitor like the kilawatt then it should be stated on the cpap machine the vac and current and it may even state the wattage, which is what we really need to know. in addition we would need to know how many hours this will run for typically or even maximally so we can more readily determine battery capacity. i would also advise being able to go at least 2 days, but you may even want it to be capable of 3 days without exceeding the battery depth of discharge of 50% for better battery life.