Transfer Switch

czars
czars Registered Users Posts: 16
Does anyone know of a transfer switch that can be used with a grid-tied, battery backed-up PV system to allow the PV system to disconnect from the utility provide back-up power to the load when the utility is down?

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Transfer Switch
    czars wrote: »
    Does anyone know of a transfer switch that can be used with a grid-tied, battery backed-up PV system to allow the PV system to disconnect from the utility provide back-up power to the load when the utility is down?

Welcome to the forum.

For the most part, this shouldn't be necessary.
    What inverter is being used? Xantrex?
    Usually there are two "AC" connections: one to feed to/receive from the grid, the other for "critical loads" which will either feed through grid power or supply the battery-backed AC when the grid goes down.
  • czars

Thanks for the reply. I'm an Electrical Contractor and my client is buying a Xantrex XW4548 and has fed me little info to date. I looked up the manual on the XW4548 and it looks like there is a built-in 60A transfer switch which could be connected to a new sub-panel for loads requiring continuous power. From the brief amount of info in the manual about the transfer switch, I believe that the sub-panel is fed from the utility while the utility is up and via the transfer switch, it is fed from the inverter/battery bank when the utility is down. Is that correct?
  • Cariboocoot