Help with inverter grounding

rgk1
rgk1 Solar Expert Posts: 134 ✭✭✭
I am new to building a solar project as well as posting on any kind of forum, so be patient with me. First some detail of my first build which is off grid. I have a SureSine 300 inverter, and a Sunsaver MPPT charge controller all wired to a Midnite Solar DC disconnect panel which has breakers for PV disconnect and DC ground fault breakers. My inverter is wired as the manufacturer recommends, except that instead of battery connections going directly to the battery and ground wire going to grounding rod, they all make those connections inside the DC disconnect panel. My concern is that the ground wire to the inverter (on the DC side) also has the wire from the AC side connected to it to make one of the isolated AC outputs the neutral. It would seem to me that this puts AC neutral sharing the same ground buss as the DC. I can touch the metal chassis of the disconnect box...no shock. But, if you test for voltage between the "hot" wire on the AC side of the inverter and the metal chassis of the DC disconnect I get 113 volts. Is this a normal condition, same as checking for voltage between the hot side of a home outlet with grid power and a homes ground rod, or is something terribly wrong? I have considered a separate ground rod for DC and AC, but that appears to bring up a whole new set of issues. Any help is greatly appreciated.
4-Risen 320 watt in series/parallel, 8-215ah 6 volt GC2 batteries in series, Exeltech 1100 watt/48 volt inverter, Tristar 45 MPPT controller.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Help with inverter grounding

Doesn't sound like anything wrong to me.