battery voltage drop/inverter alarm

I have 2 - 1.5kwh batteries feeding 1350 watt inverter. I plug in 700W heater. Voltage drops from 12.2 to 11.6 at terminal and inverter alarm goes off. Turn off heater and batter measures again 12.2 I'm new to this. It seems inverter alarm signal is set too low? Heater is running fine here, its just the sound of the alarm bothering me. This seems like it would be normal to see this voltage drop? Any insights here would be helpful.
Oscar

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: battery voltage drop/inverter alarm

A 700 watt load on a (comparatively) small battery is huge. Please give some more details on the battery, but assuming it is a 12 volt configuration 700 watts is 58 amps. A battery can only sustain that big a draw for a short time.

How have you calculated your "1.5" kw battery? Most batteries are rated in Amp/hours at a prescribed rate. A battery might be able to deliver 1.5 kw before being drained dead, over say a 24 hour period. Do that same draw in 2 hours, and it won't deliver the same performance.

Tony

PS Welcome to the forum, there are some very smart folks here who are very willing to help.

T

PPS One might ask the question, why are you using a battery to power a heater? Electric heaters are huge draws for PV and battery systems and best avoided.
  • westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭

Oscar, that starting voltage is very low .... if the battery is fully charged it should be 13.2 V not 12.2. Please clarify.

HTH

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM
    CL#29032 FW 2126/ 2073/ 2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3 x 4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM 
    Cotek ST1500W 24V Inverter,OmniCharge 3024,
    2 x Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr & Bridge,
    Eu3/2/1000i Gens, 1680W & E-Panel/WBjr to come, CL #647 asleep
    West Chilcotin, BC, Canada
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

Good catch Eric, I missed the voltage.