seperate solar power to pump water?

momofgcm
momofgcm Solar Expert Posts: 35
I have a general question.

I have an off grid house with 500W of solar panels. There is also an outside well that is designed to pump water into a high water tower. This will hold water then feed it into the house when needed. There are no plans for a boost pump to get the water into the house at higher pressure.

The question is do the water pumps generally run off their own independent solar panel (directly wired to pump) or are the water pumps powered from the house system of solar panels?

What is the logic of wiring it one way over the other.

I'm totally new to solar water pumping!

Kim

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: seperate solar power to pump water?

You can do the pumping either way...

If you run it off your main off-grid system, you can share your limited solar power between your indoor uses and the pumping system. And you can use an inverter + AC pumps to pump water at any time.

With a DC pump made to connect directly to solar panels--you have a more expensive solar DC pump, but no inverter and battery bank... That also saves quite a bit of losses too (no battery or inverter losses). Also you save on having to buy replacement batteries every few years. The pump simply runs while the sun is up until your tank is full.

Your best bet is to do a paper design of both a shared and independent pumping system and compare costs/maintenance/etc. between the two types of systems and see which is most cost effective for you.

For both systems--you will probably need to figure out how to use a back up generator for power when bad weather hits or if you need extra water at certain times.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • momofgcm

This system is designed to run a 200W solar panel directly to a pump. No batteries or inverter.