5 KW Grid-Tie PV Solar System in Mid-Michigan

First let me introduce myself. My name is Scott and I am a Spartan (alum of Michigan State University). I graduated and am employed as a Mechanical Engineer specializing in stress analysis and system design. My job has me designing power plants (gas-fired, coal, nuclear, solar & wind) in the US, Canada, and around the world. I recently purchased a home in Howell, Michigan and have decided to install solar to cover 100% of my electric needs. I will use this thread to share my design and progress. I welcome questions and comments, and I may even have a few questions myself.

System Sizing:

I've only been in the home for 10 months, but I can estimate the yearly electric use at 4000 kWh...but I don't expect to be single for long. Add a wife and kids and it will be much harder to conserve electricity. I also would like to size the system to cover a plug-in kit I plan to add to my Prius this summer. When I upgrade to an electric vehicle in 5-7 years, my electric use will double. I've decided to size the system to my current needs and then double the system when I purchase an EV.

The south facing roof on my house has an azimuth of 153 degrees. The solar panels will be installed at an angle of 33.7 degrees (8:12) from horizontal. PVWatts for my location estimates 5700 kWh per year for a 5 KW system. Due to minor early morning and late evening shading I expect slightly less. I do not have enough power need to justify a 6 KW system.

Equipment Selection: