Advice requested re: solar for pop-up camper

RANash
RANash Registered Users Posts: 5
Hello everyone!

I’m very new to solar power and basically pretty ignorant of electricity itself, to tell the truth. I’ve now inherited a Coleman “pop-up” (folding tent trailer). I’ve taken the family camping in it, and they love it. Now, I’d like to extend our choices of camping places to include those that have no electricity for extended periods (boondocking).

The trailer has a 55 AH deep cycle battery which gets drawn down about 50% each night, mostly due to the trailer’s heater and water pump. I’d like to recharge it each day using solar if I can. I don't want to mount solar panels permanently on the roof of the pop up, and I don't want to haul around more than one panel if I can avoid it.

I’m thinking about buying a Kyocera KD-135 panel which produces Pmax of 135 Watts, Vmpp of17.7, and Impp of 7.63 Amps. I am also thinking that a Morningstar SS-10 (10 Amp, 12 Volt) would do the job for the charge controller.

So I have some questions:

First, would this work (assuming a nice typical California sunny day) ?
Second, do you have suggestions for different panel(s) and/or charge controller?

Also, there may be times where I would want to park the trailer under some shade and place the solar panel away from the trailer in a sunny spot. I can rig up some kind of holder for the panel, but what I don’t know is what kind of cable to use and how long it can be. I assume that the charge controller should be close to the battery on the trailer’s tongue and the cable would be long between the cc and the panel, right?

Any advice, suggestions, tips, etc. would be very appreciated.

Thanks,

Rich

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Advice requested re: solar for pop-up camper

How much power you use:

55 AH * 12 volts * 0.50 = 330 Watt*Hours of power per night