new at this

hi I am new at this and have nothing. Looking to save some money on the energy bill any thought would be welcome

live in winnipeg cold:confused:

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: new at this

conservation is number one. cut back on utility usages, insulate if you can, and use energy saving appliances. a kill-a-watt meter may help you with the electric usage by showing you what something may draw both realtime and over a stretch of time in watt hours.
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

Solar Thermal Hot water, while complicated in cold climates, can give you a big boost in heating. While PV is only about 15% efficient, solar hot water is closer to 30%, less panels to install, and insulation and conservation are still your friends.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

this is what I was thinking to star off with. Black hose feeding into the hot water heater form the roof to take advantage of thermal exchange, this would have to be drained and shut down in the winter, Part 2 some sort of solar sys to run some lights and a diverter to a shunt power to a secondary water heater that would heat preheat water going into the regular heater. I will expand if thing go well and resources are available. By the way those resources are slim.:blush:

A little about me
    I live in Winnipeg not sure why