Don't want to waste anyones time

Options
I'm new to this and need to learn about it.
I plan on moving to 20 mile west of Durango CO off the grid at the moment I sell roofs in Atlanta and the boss is asking me about solar shingles so I need to learn about grid tied and off grid systems.
Do you have a book to recommend so I don't ask to many questions to start.
I have been in the remodeling business like forever and have done the electrical and plumbing on my jobs so I have clue just need some guidance to where I go to get the basic then I'll be back to quiz everyone.
Right now I want to build a little test system to learn and teach by I have 1500 watt inverter and was wondering what battery I would get.

Thanks
Rick
P.S Even though makes my head spin a little I love how you put your systems on your signatures just have to figure out what it all means.:D

Comments

• Windsun
    Windsun Solar Expert Posts: 1,164 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: Don't want to waste anyones time

www.homepower.com

Probably the best place to start. they have a lot of basic articles.
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

the solar shingles are not the most efficient or cost effective way of harnessing the sun's energy being thin film technology, but are more aesthetic to some people. there is a wealth of info to be gotten both on solar power mag and here, but it takes time to absorb it.