new system designed by myself

Options
vanman
vanman Solar Expert Posts: 29
Hi all need some advice
I have been building solar trackers for over 2 years now ,got a 520w Kyocera tracker working perfect.
A good friend has asked Me to design and install 5kw system.I know I am up to the challenge and have a good understanding of equipment available.I think.

I have detailed plans and specs as below

30 x Sharp 175w 24v panels
1 x SMA SB4000-TL 20 Inverter
1 x SMA SB 3000-TL 20 Inverter

I decided that because the sun moves from East to West around the building it was going to have 3 strings of 10 panels using 2 inverters.

The SB4000 would run 2 strings of 10 panels while the SB3000 would have 1 string of 10 panels.The Sb4000 would handle two parallel strings(balanced inputs with separate MPPT on each string as the specs say.)
The SB3000 is single string only so 10 panels only.

The sharp 175w panels peak at 35.4vdc so I thought 385.4vdc each string.
MPPT works from 125vdc to 450vdc but headroom on the inverters is 550vdc.

My question is Do this sound right? Are my figures right ?
I have limited room on the main flat roof for 20 panels maxium on the East flat roof,the west flat roof could take 16 if needed but I want to start with a total of 30 panels.
I will be buying the items from Holland in Europe as its a ferry there and back and it cheaper by loads than in the United Kingdom.

I will answer more questions no problem

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: new system designed by myself

I believe SMA has a string calculator... But I will use the Xantrex one for now as it is one that I know and understand its output...

First, really need to know the exact panel model number or Vmp, Voc, Imp, etc... Since you are planning on 10 in series--any errors can get multiplied by 10x.