solar charging 6volt tractor battery

unisentient
unisentient Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi folks : ...newbie here.
I already maintain/charge my 12volt tractor batteries with solar.
Now i would like to have some advice on how to maintain/charge/desulphate my old Massey Harris Pony tractor battery year-round.
Is there a way of using a 12-volt , 5-watt panel and adapting it for the 6-volt use?
I assume that the 6-volt deer-fence/feed chargers are not sufficient for the tractor battery?
Thanks for any clues!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: solar charging 6volt tractor battery

How large (Amp*Hours) is the battery...

You can use a 12 volt panel to trickle charge a 6 volt battery--but it will no longer be 5 watt output panel, but approximately 1/2 that value (panel output current remains the same, but voltage is 1/2).

Too large of battery (amp*hours)--may need a larger panel. Too small of panel (with respect to the panel), may need a charge controller to prevent battery overcharging.

Also, need to confirm that the panel has a blocking diode to prevent the battery from discharging back through the panel at night (or add a blocking diode).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

A couple of notes from an old tractor guy:

Your Pony is, I believe, (+) ground so make sure your panel connection polarity is correct. You can't rely on the "cigarette lighter" connection type here.

Since this is a small, gasoline engine the Amp/hr is probably not very high - most likely around 100 +/-. But since it is 6V it needs more current to do a good charge job. The small panels probably won't do much for truly charging or desulphating. A 5W panel would barely be able to stay ahead of self-discharge at best. Two 5W panels, on the other hand, might be more readily available and capable.