Help with battery bank

I am new at this, I have a cabin that is off grid. I have a sw 4024 and 7 flouresent lights, tv, 2 fans,exhaust hood and swamp cooler. I have 18 12 volt 120 ah batteries. What is the best way to connect the batteries in a bank for the 24 volt inverter? I have been studying the different suggestions on this forum, but am still a little confused about how the best way to connect the batteries. I have a 10000 watt generator that I use to pump water and charge the batteries.
Any diagrams would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: Help with battery bank
    phil218b wrote: »
    I have 18 12 volt 120 ah batteries. What is the best way to connect the batteries in a bank for the 24 volt inverter?

For that many batteries ( 9 parallel strings of 2 batteries ) using a Buss Bar, with
    equal length interconnects, is the only way to do it.

Even then, you will have problems with batteries not sharing the load equally.

This article http://www.smartgauge.co.uk/batt_con.html will talk about the
    situation.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• TnAndy
    TnAndy Solar Expert Posts: 249 ✭✭

Not sure how to get a diagram posted, somebody will I'm sure..