Generators that work with SW4024

interd0g
interd0g Registered Users Posts: 7
Oddly enough I am an electrical engineer and used to represent Trace in Antigua, but I can't get this question answered by anyone still around at Trace or anywhere else.
I have run into trouble with generators failing to talk to a Trace SW series, with sometimes dramatic results when they try to go online.
One generator which came with the house (a portable with capacitor regulation) gets qualified by the Trace after the 45 secs warm up and then when the online relay closes bang! - generator output ceases and the Trace drops out. Doesn't matter how low you set the max generator current.
(Needless to say, I carefully check voltage and frequency continually)

A neighbor with a Honda i-type ( built in inverter and variable rpm.) - when it goes on line the Trace delivers curent back to IT, tripping the gensets output breaker.

Now I want to get a 6 kw gas generator for occasional back up against long hurricane outages which always go along with a week or two of overcast, hence minimal solar also.
But its hard to feel confident when Trace won't commit themselves and generator manufacturers at that level don't quote specifics on distortion.
In short, does anyone know of anything published on which generators might work? Or do you have an experience?

Comments

• rplarry
    rplarry Solar Expert Posts: 203 ✭✭
    Re: Generators that work with SW4024

I have 2 neighbors with the 4024, 1 uses a yamaha 5500w diesel and the other neighbor uses a Kubota 5000w diesel both work fine.
    Larry
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭

Are you sure there's not something wrong with the inverter?
  • halfcrazy
    halfcrazy Solar Expert Posts: 720 ✭✭✭

there is something amiss here. i would suspect a bad inverter
  • Ralph Day
    Ralph Day Solar Expert Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭✭