where does a newbie start?

Options
ydydxhg
ydydxhg Registered Users Posts: 6
Hey guys, i am new to the whole solar power world. i mean totally new. i have no idea where to start.

can anyone tell me like what do i need to know/do and information i need to be researching?

thanks a lot :D

Comments

• Kamala
    Kamala Solar Expert Posts: 452 ✭✭
    Options
    Re: where does a newbie start?

It would be helpful to know what it is that you wish to know/do.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options

ydydxhg,

Are you somewhere out of New Zealand?

Question... Are you looking for for On-Grid (connected to your AC mains to save money on your utility power)--or Off-Grid where there is no AC power around and you just need solar, wind, water turbine, and/or fuel driven Generator for local power?

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • ydydxhg
    Options

"Question... Are you looking for for On-Grid (connected to your AC mains to save money on your utility power)--or Off-Grid where there is no AC power around and you just need solar, wind, water turbine, and/or fuel driven Generator for local power?"

i guess i would like a off-grid system.

actually, i am not sure, i want to install a solar system in my house. i hear a lot about people make their own solar panels rather than buying and use everyday tools to make a fully functioned system to power their house.

i think this is what i am after.
    does this make sense to you guys?
  • BB.
    Options

There is no "right answer"--it really depends on your needs. But--solar Renewable Energy is not cheap (see here for some simple diagrams explaining various solar electric system options)...

Just to give you a rough idea (based on USD$ and US pricing):

$0.08-$0.30 per kWhr Utility Power
    $0.10-$0.30 per kWhr Grid Tied solar PV (assuming 20+ year life)