Solar for my parked RV

I have not bought the charge controller yet this will be a week end system 5day recover 2day use I figured for 2 day reseve at 50% dod . The pure sine 1000watt inverter was cheap but came from Canadian Tire 2year warranty probably a mistake you get what you pay for I needed the pure sine because the new trailer came with the lcd all included and mounted plus the fact I may let the wife on sunny days use the toster. I do not really know what to do from the battery to the shunt from the shunt to the battery disconnect how many amps should I have a fuse or special circuit breaker and type of switch where should I run my 12 volt for my trailer from any considerations for that voltage will disconect the converter. This is my first try Please help me get it right .Trailer will be parked in northern ontario by thunder Bay used May to Sept.

http://gs106.photobucket.com/groups/m279/GNQVIRZHXH/?action=view&current=solar-schematicJMcLarenDogLake.jpg

Comments

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar for my parked RV

Give us some more details on your proposed set up,, panel capacity, battery capacity etc.

Also, consider very carefully you loads. I would not even consider using a electric toaster on a small system. For example,, 15 minutes of toaster use would use about 1/2 my daily TOTAL house average.

Tony
  • niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭

ok i'll take a swipe at this and hope i don't forget anything as i'm rushing to get to the store too. i see a 30a disconnect for the inverter and this would be wrong as 30a x 12v = 360w available to the inverter without exceeding the disconnects ratings. this should be a heavier switch like this,
    http://store.solar-electric.com/basw1300amp.html